16th Century

Weeks 6-10

Week 6

Tuesday, October 5: Spenser, The Faerie Queene, Book 1, Canto 1; Hodes’s “Orcs, Britons, and the Martial Race Myth, Part II: They’re Not Human.” [CN: kidnapping, racist stereotypes, violence]

Thursday, October 7: Spenser, Book 1, Canto 9; the Countess of Pembroke, poems. [CN: depression, suicide]

Week 7

Tuesday, October 12: Spenser, Book 1, Canto 11; Sidney’s Astrophil and Stella, 1, 2, 3, and 7. [CN: graphic violence, racism, sexual coercion]

Tuesday, October 14: Shakespeare‘s Othello, act 1; Othello Comic Strip by mrsepps; The Public Theatre NY, “#ToBeBlack“; and A Bit Lit Podcast #46, “Ambereen Dadabhoy on early modern race and the English playhouse.” [CN: graphic sexual language, misogyny, racism]

Week 8

Tuesday, October 19: Shakespeare’s Othello, acts 2-3; Adams’s “The King, and not I: Refusing neutrality —.” [CN: alcoholism, gaslighting, graphic sexual language, misogyny, racism]

Tuesday, October 21: Shakespeare‘s Othello, acts 4-5; Justin Shaw’s “‘Rub Him About the Temples’: Othello, Disability, and the Failures of Care“; Intersectionality Talks podcast with Justin Shaw from Oct 20, 2020

Week 9

Tuesday, October 26: Keith Hamilton Cobb’s American Moor, Introduction and pp. 1-48. Shakespeare Unlimited Podcast #54, “Keith Hamilton Cobb’s American Moor.” [CN: gaslighting, graphic sexual language, misogyny, murder, racism, suicide]

Thursday, October 28: finish discussing Keith Hamilton Cobb’s American Moor.

Week 10

Tuesday-Thursday, November 2-4: No synchronous class meetings! Instead, book and attend a one-on-one Teams Conferences and a small group Peer Review for our Second Projects. No Questions or Reflections are due this week.

Second Projects due by the end of the day on Friday, November 5 (11:59pm).